Food experiments

If someone gave the challenge to cook only one meal for my family that everyone could eat, please note I said eat, not enjoy or liked, it had to be something gluten free, dairy free, tree nut free, egg free, shellfish free and I’m probably forgetting something else free. If you add the picky young teen with her band groupies, (looks more like snow white and two of her seven dwarfs) to the equation, then you are set for an almost mission impossible.
Until very recent we were almost normal family, that loved bread, cheese and eggs. Homemade pizza was a staple for Fridays and cheese was the go-to, comfort-fix everything food for all members of the clan. Now we are an uprooted family, looking for the perfect menu that will satisfy every member of the pack and will help us reestablish our kingdom.
I was recently writing in Spanish about my ordeals with my lack of organization skills, poor sense of timing and the inevitable need to develop techniques to help me run in a semi-smoothly manner our family. Now with this new food challenge, the menu planning gets ugly, the meals lack of cohesion, my balance has been shifted, I feel like my improvisation is non existent and we are eating more rice than I ever imagine. Thanks, Julie for the rice cooker at least I can make rice now.

What to do? Logically turn to all the know-it-all Pinterest looking for inspiration. The Paleo diet sounds beautiful only if my kids will eat any greens. I have try to modified some of our favorite recipes. Please note the word try, since most of my tests has been total disasters.
Today, foreseen a really busy day for tomorrow, I was thinking what can I make for breakfast and what will the kiddos take for lunch, and cupcakes were the one and only idea that came to my mind. What can I make in a muffin shape? Eggs ( I know I said egg free, since I’m the one with the egg allergy it’s an option for the kids) oatmeal.

I sautéed 1/2 onion until clear then added some ham to it. Mixed 6 eggs, seasoned with some salt, pepper and a pinch of nutmeg and pour it on silicone cupcake liners and baked at 350 for 25 min.

They turn out yummy, I had to sell them as scramble egg cupcakes… Go wonders how that can be appealing to a little one.

20130116-163757.jpg

I could could name them egg Marmuffins, doubt they know the original Mc muffin.

My other adventure, were orange, cranberry oatmeal muffins

They turn out really yummy, I would prefer a little smoother, and I will probably experiment a little with the recipe, and overall they are keepers, not even Snow White influence on the groupies wasn’t strong enough to make yucky faces, the muffins were going fast this morning!

20130116-163949.jpg

Leave a Reply

